counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

June 1st, 2007: Marteau Rouge with Evan Parker

I’m just back from my favorite venue, Instants Chavirés in Montreuil, where I heard Marteau Rouge play with Evan Parker

The only thing I remembered about Marteau Rouge is that I had enjoyed their set opening for Sonic Youth five years ago, and I didn’t know anything about Evan Parker.

I liked this show, there was no opening act, but they played two sets. That’s a good thing as I thought they took a long time to find their marks in the first set, even though it definitely had its good moments. The second set was more to my liking, it felt more like a conversation between these musicians. Then again, maybe I was just slow getting it. Come to think of it, that’s quite likely, I usually take a while to get into free improvisation gigs.

It was close to my usual playground of weirdish music, and I was really impressed by Evan Parker. I don’t know why, but I’ve been sticking mostly to electronics or guitar based music for too long. This was yet another hint that I might dig reeds too. I hope I can follow up on that, but I’m way out of my league here. While I’m at it, I’m even thinking about investigating Jazz. Not the same thing as free improv, but it makes sense to me, as a kind of trajectory.

June 2, 2007 - Posted by | Music | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

