counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

June 24th, 2007: Le depeupleur / Strom Varx / Karkowski / Toeplitz

@ Les Voutes, Paris

Four sets of laptop generated noise in a nice venue, set underneath a bridge. The acoustics are really interesting with that kind of music. The audience was surprisingly sparse for that lineup, I would blame the weather and maybe the student crowd having left the city, but laptops seem to draw fewer people these days.

I was surprised by Kasper T. Toeplitz, in a good way. I’m usually not into his music, but I really liked his set. From very low arrhythmic rumblings to crackling sparks, an amazing range of different sounds for maybe 50 minutes, with a definite construction. I had always thought he tended to overuse his ideas in his sets, but this was definitely not the case this time. That set alone made me glad I came to this show.

Zbigniew Karkowski followed with a short set — 15 minutes tops — of mostly loud and harsh noise. Pretty run of the mill as far as I’m concerned.

Strom Varx played in the dark, like the first time I saw him. He started quite loud, then quieted down progressively. Dronish at times in low frequencies, I thought it peaked up steam at it slowed down, if that makes any sense.

Finally, a loud and short set from Le Depeupleur, that is Karkowski and Toeplitz. I don’t know if the abrupt stop was planned or a technical failure, and I didn’t stick around to find out. Too much like Karkowski’s set to my liking. I must admit I was pretty burnt out by that time.

Quite surprising, I didn’t expect that I would like Toeplitz’ set, let alone that it would be my favorite of the evening. Nonetheless, I think it’s high time for me to go to less experimental shows.

June 25, 2007 - Posted by | Music | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

