counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

Charles Matton and many more…

I first heard of the Maison europeene de la photographie a couple of month ago, and from someone who lives in Prague. Shows how much I know… I learned that the entrance was free on Wednesdays, so here I went. Nice place, I loved the stone garden in front. There two single artist exhibitions, and a handful of collective ones.

I had never heard of Charles Matton, his work was a pleasant surprise: most striking were his so-called “boxes”, small-scale models of places that may or not be real. Usually there was a large photograph set next to each one, which was great in that it blurred the lines of which was “real”. The models are really detailed, with some absolutely great effects from mirrors; some were real and set at an angle, and gave great depth to the models, while others were not mirrors at all but modeled reflections, the latter were facing me but I couldn’t see my reflection there either (of course). Not much was simply what it seemed to be, and I really liked that.

The other single photographer exhibit was from Bruce Davidson, this one a more familiar name. Black and white pictures of mostly bare trees in Paris. I guess it was too familiar for me: I tend to look for these pictures of trees framing the city when walking around in the winter. And I prefer when there are people in his picture.

The other exhibition were collective ones, one about Italy that I didn’t really dig, one of Greek photographers that I liked better, and a really diverse one without a common theme — or at least none that I noticed. A few pieces stood out to me. Unfortunately I don’t remember the name of the Greek photographer I liked, but I think the piece was called “Diana”. There was a set of black and white pictures by Antoine d’Agata, a big white and red self-portrait by Kimiko Yoshida, and a big set of many small passport photos by Tomoko Sawada, the only one I was slightly familiar with. Even though she’s on all of her pictures in various disguises, I don’t think her work is related at all to Cindy Sherman because there is no dramatization at all.

July 4, 2007 - Posted by | Art | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

