counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

October 5th, 2007: Textile Orchestra

@bon accueil

A gig in a (very) small bar, that turned out to be packed. Being vertically challenged, I’m not exactly sure that all three guys from Volcano the Bear were playing, but I think so. Add to these Dan Warburton on violin, Alexandre Bellenger on guitar and Arnaud Rivière with his battered turntable and mixing board, and that tallies to 6 musicians crammed in the back of a small room. As many people playing as during the whole event yesterday, but in a tiny room, and I was actually enjoying not seeing them after that visually intensive show. A welcome contrast.

I even liked the music better than yesterday. It also had these continuous changes, especially during their second set, but with a wider range, even reaching into noise at times. Never for long, the room was packed with people, but they were outnumbered by ideas. Not being distracted by sight allowed me to wander within the sound, focusing at times on an instrument until another one compelled me to change tracks, sometimes just taking it all in. Maybe the closest live music brought me to walking randomly in a city, just getting lost by taking turns toward any sight that attracts me from a distance. With the added bonus that I didn’t have to figure out how to get back home at the end of that trip. They might put a record out later, so even though I’m not sure it will compare to the direct experience, maybe I’ll just try to combine both wanderings.

October 6, 2007 - Posted by | Music | , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Thanks for coming along! Also glad I didn’t go to see Tuxedomoon last night (what’s with the early start time? what’s wrong with this country?).
    Yes, all three VTB were playing. You didn’t see Lawrence because he was – literally – hiding behind the bar!

    Comment by Dan Warburton | October 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. Oh, maybe worth mentioning that there will be a Textile Orchestra album due out soon on Beta Lactam. That’s Aaron Moore, Alexandre, Arnaud and myself (sadly the recording of the gig we did as a five-piece with Alan Courtis wasn’t usable). Pippip.

    Comment by Dan Warburton | October 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. Thanks for the details! I thought I had heard about that recording it as a trio, but I must have misunderstood. Your being on that session just adds to the allure: I have fond memories of that Bobby Moo gig earlier this year, so that makes that lineup two thirds of that one and three fourths of Friday’s. Sounds promising indeed.

    Comment by counterfnord | October 11, 2007 | Reply

  4. That Bobby Moo gig in July was a cracker, I agree. It’s always the best ones that never get recorded :) (But sometimes you listen to a recording of what you thought was a really good gig.. and get a nasty surprise! Maybe it’s better that it just lives – and dies – in the memory of the listener)
    Keep up the good work – impressed as hell that you managed to get a review out of the Tuxies gig less than 12 hours after it ended!

    Comment by Dan Warburton | October 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

