counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

January 24th, 2008: L’Instant Donné

@instants chavirés

And now for something completely different. Five works for flute and piano, only one of which was familiar. I’m trying to get this kind of music, with not much success so far. Try and try again. I might break through someday. Not yet, though; I guess the flute didn’t help, I don’t really like that instrument. Funny how chronologically I would rank my liking of these. Not exactly surprising either.

Brian Ferneyhough’s Four Miniatures left me thinking “I really don’t understand this”. I felt there was something there eluding me; I guess I should stick to Turner and Lightning Bolt as far as Brians are concerned. Beat Furrer’s Presto was more to my liking, especially the piano part. Then came a Bach sonata, which just bored me. I thought I liked Bach, and I know I once did, but I seem to have changed my mind; every time I heard some of his music in the past couple of years of so, I got bored. Debussy’s Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune pretty much went on as I expected. I still don’t like it, but it got me thinking about the time that was used in a Rosas performance; was that two years ago? Finally, Salvatore Sciarrino’s D’un faune, which I actually liked, despite strong initial misgivings, dispelled when the piano came in. I had been warned about this guy’s tendency to be boring, but it didn’t have that effect on me; I failed to see the connection to Debussy’s work, but I’m not that smart anyway.

January 25, 2008 - Posted by | Music | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

