counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

February 1st, 2008: Dure Mere / Gumo / Rock Monsieur

@buveur de lune

I was pleasantly surprise by the decent attendance. As much as I dislike crowds, it’s nice for those who perform and those and make these events happen.

The opening performance was just that; with Oso fronting, that’s not much of a surprise. And it was a good one at that, with pushing over of mike stand, rolling on the floor and much mayhem. Very short, but that was just the way these things should be in my opinion, no time to catch your breath or think about what’s going on; thinking would have been completely out of tune there.

At first I hated Gumo, but they won me over along the way. I think the vocals were what turned me off, but they went instrumental soon and I found out that I quite liked their thing. Cello and drums, an unusual combination, unfortunately reminding me of HangedUp. That’s unfortunate because I loved that band and the comparison is made all the more unfair by the rosy lenses of nostalgia. I could not escape that when cello loops were layered, and that’s bad because it had a completely different feel and these memories just got in the way. Gumo is much more primal, with little electronic processing.

The final band was the one I liked best, Dure Mere. Even though the guitar player was missing a string, that drums/guitar/bandoneon combo made my day. Yep, bandoneon. I heard some of them are from Argentina, which probably explains that. No tourist-trap tango there, just good, fast music with that extra added flavor. Funny how I’m not that fond of accordion yet love that instrument. Hopefully I will get to hear them again with a complete set of strings; but that problem didn’t get in the way at all.

February 4, 2008 - Posted by | Music | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Спасибо за пост! Добавил блог в RSS-ридер, теперь читать буду регулярно..

    Comment by enriseunwipsy | November 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

