counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

February 10th, 2008: Xanopticon / Duran Duran Duran

@zorba

Another change of pace, getting some breakcore to end the weekend. I had been hoping to catch these guys for a while, this doubleheader was a pleasant development.

Duran Duran Duran was excellent. He didn’t stick to just breakcore, that set did have its roots around there, but he went into more pounding stuff at times, of course the rhythms were suitably distorted and mangled into a beautiful frenzy. Relentless and supercharged, better than I hoped he would be. And hopefully back around here in June or so.

Xanopticon was more interesting in a sense — as in more intellectually interesting, as opposed to physically compelling. But more demanding as well, and I have to admit burnout claimed me and I didn’t stay the whole set. Turned out I only missed the last ten minutes or so, which make me regret that I didn’t stick around. I hope I will have the opportunity to see him again, this was really good.

February 11, 2008 - Posted by | Music | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Xanopticon is, without a doubt, some of the most intellectually stimulating music out there today. I seriously can’t get enough of him!

    Comment by Farley Knight | February 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

