counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

February 17th, 2008: Rosas & Ictus – Steve Reich evening

@maison de la musique, Nanterre

I read my notes about last year’s performance, and there’s not much to add to that. I was seated a few rows from the back, but this being a smaller room, it was still a good seat. The best part of seeing the same performance from a different perspective is that I can see different things. Overall I had a better view than last year, except for Piano Phase and Ligeti’s poem, which is much better from a short distance.

This wider field of vision allowed be to enjoy Eight Lines even more, with a better appreciation of the group dynamics there; they somehow reminded me of Drumming, with the circle always bound in my mind to Violin Phase, and an echo of A Love Supreme in the association of a dancer with a specific instrument.

The best new was that from this point of view I was able to get Four Organs at last. I hadn’t liked it the first time, but I could find a thread this time; I was just too close back then. It’s not my favorite of the evening, but now I like it; for me it was all about getting to see the wider pattern at the same time as the repeated sequences.

I never tire of seeing Rosas anyway, and I’d gladly go again next week if I had the opportunity. Piano Phase is so great and even makes me entertain the hope that the three other movement could be coming soon. I’d love to see Cynthia Loemij perform Violin Phase.

February 20, 2008 - Posted by | Dance | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Bonjour,
    Vous ne vous lassez pas de voir Rosas, moi non plus, et j’ai sans doute été le plus enthousiaste au monde à la vue de Zeitung…
    A ce que je vois, vous allez souvent au Théâtre de la Ville. Irez-vous voir Marie Chouinard ?
    Dès que j’ai le temps, j’ajouterai vos critiques aux tableaux de Scènes 2.0 (http://scenes20.over-blog.com/categorie-1161188.html).
    Keep up the good work !

    Comment by JD | February 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

