counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

April 5th, 2008: eRikm + Akosh S. / Sun Plexus 2 / Melmac / Arnaud Rivière

@instants chavirés

Still in catchup mode over this busy weekend. Plus I was in a pretty foul mood and didn’t feel like writing much. I was pleasantly surprised at how diverse this gig was. The four acts were very different, which had its good and bad sides, but mostly good. Packed as well, which did nothing to improve my mood, but even though I don’t like it, it is better than a sparse attendance for everyone that matters.

It had been a while since I had seen Arnaud Rivière with his battered turntable, mixing board, springs and sensors, with his focusing on drums lately. It was not my favorite performance of his with that setup, but there some trajectory of sorts, as in a move through different kinds of sounds. Maybe a bit too linear and transient for me, but that could an effect of expecting too much and not being very receptive; I’m likely to have missed any pattern lying in there. Definitely the most experimental set, it was good enough to lighten up my mood, despite my bitching.

Good thing it did, because Melmac strained by patience. It was not bad or anything, just that I could not find a way in. I’m usually fond of these layers of feedback and wailing guitars, but it seemed tame to me. Too predictable and probably requiring a more contemplative bend that I could muster.

I don’t know why, but I expected Sun Plexus 2 to be much more experimental, in the improvisation mold. It’s not mainstream radio fodder at all, but far more primal and almost punk at times. I didn’t know anything about them, so it was a pleasant surprise, and they brought a lot of light hearted energy. I really liked their attitude as well, and they’re a real good live band with a personal approach.

Yet another completely different direction with eRikm and Akosh S. Another different take on turntablism, much more intellectual, more the kind I’m used to. Not much obvious in there, paying attention really matters, and at times I thought Akosh S. didn’t help, as his jazz overtones made his music more accessible. It turned out to be a gross oversimplification, as there was a lot going on, and also between both. Not as much as I’d like in the later department, but maybe that’s because I missed the point. It turned out to be my favorite set nonetheless.

April 8, 2008 - Posted by | Music | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

