counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

October 27th, 2008: Sensational / Spectre / Kouhei Matsunaga / Strom Varx

@divan du monde

OK, I went to another gig Saturday, but I didn’t feel like writing about it. It’s not that it was bad, but I had just an attack of gig fatigue, and that feeling extended to this blog as well. That didn’t last, but I take it as sign that I need to diversify a little.

This Wordsound event was a welcome if tentative step in that direction. Some Hip-Hop, a tad too experimental for me right now, but at least that’s a change, and in a venue where I don’t go often. I got there late and missed the first set and part of the second, unfortunately.

Despite getting in about halfway through Strom Varx‘ set, it ended up being my favorite of the evening anyway. Maybe because it was the most familiar, but it was really not that much. Definitely the most rhythmic things I even heard from him, and also with an unusually good PA. When I got in it was almost only beats, nicely unclean sounds with uncharacteristic harshness. Then the more usual layers of slowly changing soundscape came back in, but never took over completely. I liked that balance a lot as well as the overall edge, and I totally welcome his exploring a new direction.

I wouldn’t have minded Kouhei Matsunaga playing longer, that set seems really short. Intense as well. What I liked best was the parts when a pattern was built up then interfered away. Pretty diverse stuff, often at the same time or in close succession. Some complex rhythmic patterns, but again what I like was more about the overall trajectories and transitions than any one isolated part.

I didn’t like Spectre much, and felt his set was too long for that reason. Some pretty good bits, but kept on too long for me. That’s not really surprising, my taste runs quite to the old-school with DJs, and he went into directions that just are not my kind of thing, so I never found a way in. To each his own.

I had a bit of the same kind of problem with Sensational at first, when he was on his own. A solo MC is often a bit frustrating to me, and it took me a while to catch on to his flow. Then again I realized it’s not my kind of music. But then he was joined by Spectre and Kouhei Matsunaga, and it got better for me. At first I had a hard time figuring out what Spectre was doing, and I felt it was not really taking off, but I got into it and the three of them together delivered a pretty good set feedind off each other. I didn’t stay into it until the end, but that’s really because I’m still in overload mode, as they were getting better all along.

October 28, 2008 - Posted by | Music | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

