counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

November 15th, 2008: Trencher / Drum! Eyes?

@instants chavirés

Second gig in this doubleheader, and something completely different.

My main motivation was to hear Drum! Eyes?, because of DJ Scotch Egg. I liked their set a lot, which is no surprise with two drummers — I’m real partial to that kind of lineup. The fourth member played guitar with the kind of noisy distorted assault I can only approve of. DJ Scotch Egg was kinda conducting during the first song, laying a quite subdued background of electronics. Be he got a bass for the rest of the set, and threw in his usual video game music. And combining that with the power of two drummers and guitars took the whole to another level. I still think I liked the Kyrgyz music better, but it’s close.

I had heard Trencher last year but didn’t like them much. At first I was again annoyed by the keyboard sound, but I quickly changed my mind. I think that’s what made this cookie monster metal sound fun as some goofy slasher flick. Too bad they ran into technical problems that led to long pauses and a crackling bass. It’s a bit of a one trick pony, but they had the sense to keep the set short and that made it a lot of fun. I often have a hard time taking metal bands seriously, it’s good to see one who are obviously in on that game, and manage to play good music anyway.

November 17, 2008 - Posted by | Music | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

