counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

January 30th, 2009: Pain Jerk / Emeralds / Birds Of Delay

@instants chavires

Back to live music at last. It turned out to be a bit early, but I just couldn’t wait any longer, I was just starving for a gig.

Birds of delay came on stage after a long introductory drone and a burst of slicing metallic noise I liked a lot. Then it was just of voice samples, short sounds whose repetition combined with the processing to strip them of whatever meaning they might have had. Nice at the beginning, but too long for me. It just went on in the same way and I kinda tuned out after a while. I tend to like this stuff though, so it was OK at first.

A Korg, a Moog and a guitar had me a bit worried about Emeralds, so I was surprised to like their music. Sometimes the sounds were just too spacey for me, but the drones and persistent layers were nice enough. Maybe just a little too consistent, I sometimes wished the guitar would add a different element instead of blending in, but I guess that’s just not their thing. I did enjoy the set despites annoying moments, and was feeling pretty good about my rushing back so soon.

Pain Jerk drove home how early it really was though. I wasn’t even that loud, but it seems my recovery from ear surgery wasn’t complete enough, as I had a very distracting saturated buzz in my ear whenever the frequencies got high, which was most of the set, basically spoiling it. The end of the set seemed pretty good, when he added a rhythmic element to the noise onslaught, but I can’t really tell. Oh well, it was worth a shot, and I’m sure it will keep getting better — last week I had that buzz constantly, so there’s definitely progress.

February 1, 2009 - Posted by | Music | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

