counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

March 28th, 2009: Nassima

@théatre de la ville

Music from Algeria, but not the style I’m most familiar with. At first I didn’t like it much, I though Nassima‘s voice was too high and pretty. But it was mostly a matter of getting in the right frame of mind, something that was helped a lot by the audience for a change. Concerts in this particuliar venue can often be a bit staid and too quiet, but there seemed to be a bunch of women from Algeria in the house and I felt much better as soon as they fired the first round of zaghareet. Now that helped me connect to shards of my past, and to the music then and there.

I’m still not that fond of the style itself, a bit too sophisticated and polished for me, but Nassima is good and the musicians even better. She said she was tired but still went on for almost two hours, so I’m not sure I want to take her disclaimer at face value. Or maybe the bar is just higher in her trade, I can think of many performers for who being tired would mean a twenty minute set at most. Among the musicians, Mohamed Abdenour was especially outstanding, but my favorite was Rabah Khalfa — that’s probably my bias for percussion talking, but I guess I’m too old to change that. His play helped me find a way into a music that would otherwise lack some immediate appeal for me.

I was surprised that it had been so long when the show ended, always a sign that I enjoyed it more than I thought. So maybe this style could grow on me if I gave it more of a chance. Anyway it did make me want to hear more music from this area, but probably something a bit rougher.

March 30, 2009 - Posted by | Music | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

