counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

April 7th, 2009: Andy Moor & Anne-James Chaton / Zaraz Wam Zagram

@instants chavirés

It was a nice opportunity to hear Zaraz Wam Zagram with a much better sound, which can change a lot in this kind of music. He uses sound as a material to be shaped and bent, so it does a lot of a difference. Unsurprisingly, there were parts I liked a lot and others I didn’t care for. It’s always a bit of a crapshoot when he focuses on a single kind of sound for a while, because if I find it grating — and that did happen a couple of times — I have a hard time overcoming that to focus on what he’s doing with it. The reverse is better as when I like the base sound, I’m totally tuned in to its evolution. But the parts I like best is when several are mixed in, especially when tapes are involved, and the best was the times when the superimposed layers where different enough. In this setting I could hear both the separate parts and their combination, which did was a much more satisfying experience than usual.

I liked the second set more than I expected. I think I’m starting to actually like what Anne-James Chaton is doing. It took a while, and I guess having Andy Moor playing helped a lot, but I guess the key for me is to actively ignore the meaning of the words which get in the way. When heard as pure sound the repetitive side becomes a plus, the tone makes sense and the occasional processing or background loops become more interesting. I could not just appreciate the ongoing performance, but also by now I even think much more fondly about earlier solo performances. Andy Moor brought a lot to the performance for me, as his loops and bursts could reinforce or interfere with the rhythm of the voice. No surprise there, but I’m not complaining. Even though I pretty much have an idea of what he’ll sound like, it’s not the point. What I like about him is that he listens and interacts with other performers in a way that makes them sound better. Hopefully I’ll get to hear him with DJ/Rupture. I’m even more eager to hear that now that I have heard their great record.

April 10, 2009 - Posted by | Music | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

