counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

June 4th, 2009: Troum / Giuseppe Ielasi

@instants chavirés

A pleasant surprise from Giuseppe Ielasi. I had heard him play last year and didn’t like it much, but this time I did enjoy his set. A background of long loops with a lot of things small and bigger going on all around. Really interesting music, inventive and both consistent and ever changing. The fainter sounds made it complete for me, bringing a very nice density, while the somewhat steady rhythm the loops brought would be disturbed by the changing texture.

Maybe the sheer number of gigs these days was taking a toll, but I couldn’t really get what Troum were doing. Very good sound mixing effects with instruments as sound sources, dronish textures I like a lot, but something kept me out. That’s a puzzling because all the ingredients were there, so I guess I just whiffed this time. I hope I’ll do a better job next time.

June 10, 2009 - Posted by | Music | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

