counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

July 1st, 2009: Abbey Bookshop anniversary

@St Séverin

That dance show was an early one, so I could make it to the garden of St Severin church for the celebration of the 20th anniversary of Abbey Bookshop, a Canadian bookshop of which I’ve been a customer for many years. It’s almost my sole puveyor of books, and even if they don’t carry what I’m looking for, I usually scout the details on some online dealer’s site before ordering through them. It might be more expensive, but Brian has given me great advice along the years, and that’s worth shelling out a little more once in a while. Plus there’s usually some coffee hidden in the middle of the towering piles of book, and how many shop do this in Paris?

Anyway the celebration was shared with a Mexican restaurant named Mexi & Co, also around since 1989, but I’ve never been there. So there was Mexican food and some cinnamon and rice drink I liked a lot, a piñata and some latin music, in addition to the medieval theme more specifically brought by the bookshop people, including a guy doing colorful medieval calligraphy. They even got the use of the church’s organ for a short performance, the sound was great even though I’m not into that kind of music. There were a lot of people doing some medieval dances, and they looked like they were having a lot of fun; they’re probably part of a club, because many dressed the part. The music for that was by an ensemble called l’Escarboucle, and I thought they were great, playing until night fell and put a reluctant stop to the dancing. I don’t know anything about this kind of music, but that’s something I might want to fix, hence this reminder.

July 6, 2009 - Posted by | Life, Music | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

