counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

July 29th, 2009: Psychedelic Desert / Robert Engelbrecht / Eddie 135 / Buffet Froid

@rigoletto

Four completely different sets in that gig, which this something I appreciate a lot.

Buffet Froid started with a free improv set, but those two quote-unquote prepared guitars left be unconvinced. There were some ideas, though maybe a little too heavily expounded. But I had the uncomfortable impression they were not listening enough to each other, some communication failure that spoiled a lot for me.

First contrast with Eddie 135, who formed a cohesive unit. I had never heard them before for some reason, and I was expecting something more noisish, based on their pile of electronics and effects. But that was something else, with a fast pulse giving a structure and base to some hints of variations and interferences. The set was too short for me to figure it out much, so I plan to hear them again now that I have an idea of what to look for.

Yet another style with Robert Engelbrecht performing Phill Niblock’s 3 to 7 – 196. Cello with additional recorded cello layers of more than 30 minutes of powerful and compelling contemporary music. Totally great in my opinion, a sensory experience with more than meets the ear. My favorite set of the evening, with a music strong enough to make the setting irrelevant.

Finally, Psychedelic Desert pretty much lived up to the first half of their name — with the less than numerous attendance providing the second. The beginning and end were good enough if pretty much what I expected from a Japanese psychedelic band, but I just loved the middle part with the singer/bass player on her own. There was something just off enough in the rhythm of the bass and the tone of the voice to make that part fascinating for me.

August 3, 2009 - Posted by | Music | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

