counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

November 4th, 2009: Steve Hauschildt / Ju Suk Reet Meate & Oblivia / Stellar Om Source / Mark McGuire

@la suite

I happen to like Emeralds, so I was curious about hearing two of their member’s solo projects. Despite my love of loops, I wasn’t all that sold on Mark McGuire‘s performance. He played guitar and used looped phrases to build up his music, but I felt it stopped a little short. That was always very consistent and the loops came together nicely, but that’s exactly what the issue was for me. It was fitting together too well and none of those loops went for very long, and the result felt a bit too polished for me, as it never crossed into interference or trance. Well done, but that put it in the same class as those finger-picking guitar aces for me. I can appreciate it, but not exactly like it, I feel something is missing. But that’s probably just me.

A bit of the same kind of issue with Stellar Om Source, again, in that I guess it’s really a matter of personal taste. I think she’s good at what she does, but that’s not my kind of stuff. Her sound is just not my kind of thing, and her music does remind me of some of the heavyweight references I’ve her thrown around about her, but I don’t like them either. For me, it’s just too nice and rounded to overcome my dislike for the sound itself.

Ju Suk Reet Meat and Oblivia being members of SMEGMA, I had some high hopes. Turned out to be a pretty good set in my opinion, especially the first half or so, where I felt both where playing in a compatible but not identical pace. I liked the changing textures brought about by either instrument changes or record collage. The second half sounded steadier to me, and less interesting because of that. But maybe that’s a combination of the records/sounds used by Oblivia and a weird idea that popped in my mind and overstayed its welcome: I was wondering what she would do with some Elizabeth Clare Prophet material. I guess her recent death had me thinking about never hearing something I really liked done with that — the mix with auctioneers was nice but just too obvious, though it reminded me of a Doug Aitken video/installation I liked — and what she was doing had me thinking she could pull it off. Though it’s probably too mainstream for her.

I really liked the last set, by the Emerald member, Steve Hauschildt. Keyboards too, but this time the sound was more to my liking and what he did with it was a nice mix between consistency and change. Someway through the set I had a pretty good idea of what he was doing, but not of what he was going to do. Things that were not exactly repeated but that made sense in the context of the set, and other elements taking it further at the same time. Another good one.

November 11, 2009 - Posted by | Music | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

