counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

November 23rd, 2009: Pina Bausch – Masurca Fogo

@theatre de la ville

Obviously not new material, but I knew that even when I booked for this show. At that time, I just wanted to take a second look at a show I saw a decade ago, Pina Bausch’s death turned it into a farewell. It’s still early to say for sure, but I don’t think I’ll be going to see shows I’ve seen before, except maybe a few of the last ones which rekindled my interest. The way these show sell out, I might as well leave my seat to someone more motivated.  So it might have been the last time I saw these dancers, especially Ruth Amarante, Rainer Behr, Andrey Berezin and Ditta Miranda Jasjfi.

The show itself was OK, but still a bit too much of what I eventually got tired of. The comedy bits were relatively few, but it still had these tiresome postcard snapshots from a place — lisboa this time — even though it also showed a better grasp than most such themed shows.  And it featured some of the solo parts that came back in each show in those days, which was the price to pay for going each year.

On the other hand, some of these were real good, and there was this amazing use of music, not as a neutral backdrop or a blueprint for the dance, but more as an independent partner to be engaged, followed or challenged. The long cello cover was a definite highlight in that respect. And the small details that don’t mean much at first but ended up seared in my memory. Foremost among these was Ruth Amarante’s loud breathing at the very beginning.

As a kind of closure, this show reminded me of the place of water in her shows, and maybe that’s why I’ve singled out Ditta Miranda Jasjfi even though her role was again limited. Her dance has a flowing quality that makes her a representative of what I like best about these shows.

November 28, 2009 - Posted by | Dance | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

