counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

Fave records of 2009

I’m not sure I’ll be keeping this blog going on, but here’s my top five records of 2009 (already out somewhere else, so it’s no big deal)

Nisennenmondai: Fan. This is an amazing record. One track, a total blast. My fave live performance as well, it was a total blast too live, but the record is even better in my opinion. These girls totally rule, bar none. Their live performance was my favorite gig that year.

ALF of Hip Hop Slam: This way or that way. I really love this record, though it’s been a late arrival for me. A couple of tracks hit a personal Okinawan nerve, but I think it doesn’t need that kind of connection. Real good turntable based hip hop as it should be.

Audrey Chen and Robert Van Heumen: Abattoir. I had never heard of Audrey Chen before this year, but I was very impressed by the two performances I got to see. This particular record is even better. To me this is free improv at its best, and I can only wish I got to hear something that good live this year.

Oneida: Rated O. I got to hear them live this year, which was good. This triple album is a mouthful but very much worth it. I still think records are not a good substitute to seeing them live, but this pack was a treat. I love this band because of their live performances, but they’ve been so rare around here lately that I’ve had to settle for records. I got to see them this year and it was a blast, I hope they’ll be back soon.

Kumi Solo: My love for you is a cheap pop song. I’ve been waiting for that release for over a year, but it was worth it. A perfect fit for my love for Japanese pop, with an alternative twist to it. Not a lot of that, but enough to make it interesting. Like giving me enough leeway to preserve my pretend coolness yet enjoy the sugar. She’s so talented.

It probably shouldn’t count, but two WFMU premiums have been regulars this year: Billy Jam‘s Put The Needle On The Irish Hip-Hop Record, and Keili Hamilton‘s The Beastiest Of 2008. So many awesome performances took place on her show, I hope she’ll be back.

January 10, 2010 - Posted by | Music

2 Comments »

  1. I’m VERY happy that my album is one of your faves for 2009. I hope I’ll be able to do maybe a EP or something in the near future. I’m very proud of my project! Thanks again!

    LaterZZzz!
    ALF

    Comment by ALF of Hip Hop Slam | January 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hey, only 4 Zs, what gives?
    Let me know about that EP if and when it comes through.

    Comment by counterfnord | January 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

