counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

January 30th, 2010: Music from Pakistan

@abbesses

I think that was my first time hearing live music from Pakistan, and I didn’t know anything about those styles to boot. So I probably totally missed the point, but it was a nice first contact. Three musicians were from Balochistan, and the two others from Sindh, but the good thing was the their costumes were the most obvious sign of this difference. Not that their music was alike, but I thought the same of both soloists from Balochistan anyway. I really liked that they played together at the end, and that Ali Dost played almost throughout.

Nawab Khan played a long flute and sang with a deep harsh voice almost like in throat singing. I thought of that because he also played flute almost at the same time, alternating quickly enough that I couldn’t really tell whether both did overlap. I liked those moments because he’s good at both and the sounds were so different.

Akbar Khamisu Khan played a double flute with circular breathing, with the lowest one a drone and the high one used for melody. Mohamad Khan was playing a dholak with him. The music was rather upbeat, and I think he was expressive enough to make the technical stuff secondary. I also appreciated that he seemed to pay attention to the other musicians when not playing and spurred them to play together at the end.

Ahmad Bashir played a Sorud, a kind of fiddle that  looked a bit like a Kobyz, but with many more strings. That part was the one that sounded the closest to Indian music to me, but what made it my favorite was the instrument, and of course his skilled playing that had him sometimes pluck cords near the top of the neck in addition to the regular bowing. I love this instrument, I should investigate further this music.

Again, the last few songs had them play together, even though Nawab Khan didn’t play flute at that time and didn’t sing that much. I really liked that because seeing musicians sitting side by side but not playing together often seems pointless to me. I might have been for show, but the fact that Ali Dost did play almost the show — expect for some dancing at the end — makes me think there was more than just that.

February 4, 2010 - Posted by | Music | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

