counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

March 10th, 2010: Mural

@instants chavirés

I don’t know whether I can just chalk that up to familiarity, but Mural sounded imbalanced to me. Kim Myhr and Ingar Zach seemed quite in synch with each other, and Jim Denley was more on his own doing the whole extended technique drill I’m grown tired of. No big deal, but it did seem to get in the way, with Myhr and Zach seeming to wait for Denley to lead the way at times, and going on at others with Denley just too quiet.

Each of them put out very nice sounds; I liked Myhr’s zither a lot and his percussive approach to guitar. But they didn’t seem to build up on each other as much as they could have. Maybe they just had an off day. More likely is that I just happen not to understand what Jim Denley is doing. I had that feeling before, so I guess I’ll have to be more focused or give up on his music. I hope I’ll go with the former plan.

March 14, 2010 - Posted by | Music | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

