counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

June 6th, 2010: Fuck Buttons / Thee Oh Sees / King Midas Sound / These Are Powers / Magnetix / Washed Out

@la villette

Washed Out had a somewhat ominous name with those threatening clouds, but the rain spared us. The music was sunny and positive, and that held when he was joined by a band. It’s not my thing at all, but it was nicely crafted.

Magnetix was quite different, and they sure were loud for a duo. It’s not really about pushing the amps into eleven, it’s about claiming the airspace. And they did that with gusto. I guess it’s par for the course and there’s always a throwback thing with this garage sound, but the music grew a little too predictable for me later on. But for a while I just enjoyed the ride.

These Are Powers‘ turned out to be my favorite set of the weekend, despite the subpar conditions. I like what I heard on the radio, and the vocalist really took it further live, so that I liked it better even though the limitations of an outdoors gig took their toll. That’s the kind of hybrid music I’m most interested in, mixing things that too many keep separate with a real rhythmic creativity. They were good, but I’m sure they would be great in a better place, so I hope they’ll be back sooner rather than later.

King Midas Sound were OK but I was still thinking about the previous set a little too much. I’m not sure the setting was that good for them, maybe it contributed to my feeling that it all sounded a little too much the same. Earth a kill ya remains a good song, but I got the feeling they too would be better in an indoor venue, maybe the wind blew the details away.

Thee Oh Sees keep puzzling me. That was a nice set, but I have to confess I lost interest along the way. They come highly praised, and In The Red is a seal of quality in my book, but even though I like some songs a lot, it was a little too efficient at times and I feel they play a little too closely by the playbook. I’d like some alien element to disturb that routine.

Fuck Buttons sure have come a long way since I first saw them four years ago and I’m genuinely happy for them, because they seem to be nice guys. I like their music and the way they mix a driving beat with noise and electro elements. But even though it was a nice set, it was a little too close to what I was expecting. What’s next? I hope they’ll either bring something else into the mix — but what? — or go the kraut way and push the limits of what they’re doing now. I intend to be there next time but hopefully it won’t be just more of the same.

June 12, 2010 - Posted by | Music | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

