counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

September 30th, 2010: Ensemble Dedalus

@instants chavirés

A very nice show from Ensemble Dedalus, who played music by James Tenney and Phill Niblock. I’m a big fan of the latter, so I really had to go, especially as Niblock’s music is a live experience that I feel translates poorly to records.

The musicians were all around the audience, which was very fitting. This kind of music builds and changes slowly, and the textures and overtones are the best part for me, so being in the middle is just better than the usual frontal setup.

This never gets old for me. I don’t even try to follow it or understand what’s going on, it’s more like a landscape to explore. I really like the way Niblock’s music feels, and I don’t mean that as an emotion, but in the tactile sense. It feels the space so thoroughly that I can almost touch it.

October 10, 2010 - Posted by | Music | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

