counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

October 14th, 2010: Ballake Sissoko & Vincent Segal

@théatre de la ville

OK, both of these guys are really gifted musicians. And I readily admit that I’m not a fan of music from Mali. But this all seemed so mellow. Ballaké Sissoko was pretty good if a bit tame, but I really expected more from Vincent Segal. Though most of that is because I expected the latter to be more comfortable with that place. Maybe neither was. I think that’s a real possibility.

I’m not a fan of music from Mali, but I’ve heard more involved performances. But I guess my problem is the one I always get with classical music. Technically perfect, but I just don’t care. There’s just too much history for me. Whether from China, Mali or Europe, classical music keeps boring me.

As for Segal, well, he did well to play second fiddle at times, and these may have been the most interesting parts. Because there were small details there that went out of the beaten paths and that were precious. Other than that, he sure can do a lot with his instrument and he certainly takes it further than usual in that lame setting. But I’m not the right audience for his most experimental forays. First, they stood out as pointed exceptions. Second, the were just tame if not lame. If anyone wonders how it’s done, I’ve got two words for you: Audrey Chen.

October 19, 2010 - Posted by | Music | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

