counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

October 27th, 2010: Maguy Marin – Salves

@abbesses

I didn’t remember I had a ticket for that show, because I hadn’t liked a show by Maguy Marin in many years. I’m glad I took a chance, because I really liked most of this one.

Even the opening sequence, with dancers coming from seats in the audience and running their hands on threads that may or not have been there (I just don’t know; I thought I saw them sometimes, but I could easily have been fooled by the dancers). That ambiguity got my attention. The four big reel-to-reel players did too, of course, come to think of it their occasional activation may have been a little too distracting, but I love that stuff.

This was another instance of a show featuring on-and-off lighting that would briefly pick out small sequences. This is getting tedious, but in that case I liked it. Some sequences were repeated, but usually not too closely. There was one with a dancer picking up shards of a plate, vase of statue and putting them together tentatively. A longer one had dancers setting up a table until one dropped a plate. My favorite had a dancer standing next to a wall with hands coming from his side to cover his eyes, then another one took his place and hands covered her ears, and finally the hands covered the mouth of the third one. I had the feeling these bits would maybe fit like the shards into a bigger picture, but I didn’t want to pursue that too much. It was fine as a dreamlike feeling, and at times I caught myself thinking of Inland Empire because of that construction. Which is high praise for me.

Another repeated sequence had dancers building a platform by throwing boards around before putting them down of a structure. These platforms became part of the show from then on, and that was a nice touch. There were too many small sequences like this to mentions, some with slight variations, some identical, and also some that didn’t come back but shared something with the other patterns. One of a varying pattern had a female figure in a bright dress taping a poster to a wall, with repetitions with two clones, and so on up to five. There were many interesting plays with repetition, expectations and variation. Some of it was there in Umwelt, but then the system was too locked down for me. This time I liked it a lot.

The final sequence had the lights on and steady, with a big table set up before the dancers went into a slapstick food fight involving buckets of bright paint. I didn’t like it much, but it did close out the show by breaking the pattern of patterns. And my dislike was mild and no match for my appreciation of the rest.

November 11, 2010 - Posted by | Dance | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

