counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

January 13th, 2010: Johan Hedin – Pelle Björnlert – Erik Pekkari

@abbesses

I didn’t know anything about Swedish music, and I was curious about the nyckelharpa. That’s a very nice looking instrument, and Johan Hedin certainly knows what to do with it. All three musicians were really good, Pelle Björnlert has what was my favorite moment of the concert on fiddle, and Erik Pekkari was just as good on both zither and accordion.

But I didn’t like the music much. There was something about it, some flourishes sometimes, that were really grating for me. The few exceptions included an accordion solo, a polska during the encore that had less of these embellishments than usual, and a tune that sounded almost like a jig. I liked the sound of the instruments, especially the bass-sounding zither, but these were usually not enough to overcome my dislike for some of the phrases. I don’t know if that’s because it was sounding too old or too European, but I don’t think I’ll try to figure it out.

January 17, 2011 - Posted by | Music | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

