counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

February 2nd, 2011: Debashish Bhattacharya – Ganesh Rajagopalan – Subhasis Bhattacharya – Satish Kumar

@théatre de la ville

A big part of the appeal of this concert was supposed to be the meeting of southern and northern tradition. As I understand neither, I’ll ill placed to comment on that. I was less obviously lost than usual within that music, but I suspect that’s because they were somewhat tentative, or that the music was deliberately watered down. It might be high time I give up altogether on Indian music. I’m just not willing to study it enough to get it.

The concert itself was enjoyable, if a bit flat in my opinion. The two headliners were Debashish Bhattacharya and Ganesh Rajagopalan, and they’re definitely good, as were their supposed sidemen. But when they were alternating playing, it felt flat, as if each was holding back. It was much better when they played together, and sometimes it got great when it was clear even to me that one was playing part of what the other or someone else should have been playing. There it got really interesting.

I probably would have like some voice, though the violin took up that part nicely. The slide guitar felt a little too pure to me, but there were some very nice moments when they played together and something felt like up in the air as to the division of parts.

February 5, 2011 - Posted by | Music | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

