counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

March 30th, 2011: France Sauvage / Justice Yeldham / Napalm Jazz

@instants chavirés

Napalm Jazz were better than I expected, but that’s all on me. I’m getting eager to move away from this noise thing, but at the same time I keep running into people who make me linger. Napalm Jazz just extended that list. The pedals and contact mics are just tools, but there’s something primal, direct and honest in a take-it-or-leave-it way about their music that I think is worth enduring the routine. Once in a while, it’s more than worth it, it’s downright cleansing.

This was my fourth time hearing Justice Yeldham, and I intentionally stress “hearing”. Reading about his music as a kind of freak show is getting to pet peeve level with me. Sure, he might bite a slice of glass of that plate he’s playing or smash it on his face, but there’s so much more to it. So I didn’t even look at him. And it’s at least as good that way. He displays amazing control of his instrument — and glass and contact mic are an instrument in his hands — and I think it’s really worth listening to. There are rhythmic and melodic parts in there, and it’s really music. And when he broke the glass, it made sense too, because the reduced area changed the pitch. I suspect he doesn’t even need to do that anymore, but the expectation of this is part of his act by now. He plays with that too, so it’s not a bad thing.

France Sauvage sounded almost mainstream after these, especially with a drummer. But there was much more to it than that. Even when the beat was at its most repetitive and trance-like, their music packs an unpredictable undertow I emphatically recommend yielding to. I think there’s always something going on in there, and even though I chose my own level, other people probably got something quite different from their performance. Which to me is a very good thing. This time I was more interested in the electronics that were going against the flow. Another time I might like better another part of what they do. Maybe someday I’ll get enlightened enough to take it all in. Until then I can still expect to find something to latch on to no matter why state of mind. It’s that rich.

April 2, 2011 - Posted by | Music | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

