counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

April 3rd, 2011: Dror Feiler

@institut Suédois

I had to miss most of the start of Sonic Protest due to prior bookings, but I’m certainly glad I could catch Dror Feiler. Maybe that’s just because I hadn’t turned into a zombie yet, but it was one of my favorite performances. I like loud noise sets, but this was unusually good in that vein. Loud for a purpose, not to hide any deficiency. With some cool frequencies under the sax blasts — which were just right in my opinion. It had been a while since I had heard somehow play that loud without the loudness masking something. Here the loudness was part of the music, an essential component but not the main one. This was not a shock-and-awe set, the awe was there but not out of shock, out of what was still clearly going on and remained accessible despite the loudness.

April 11, 2011 - Posted by | Music | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

