counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

April 5th, 2011: Jan Fabre – Prometheus-Landscape II

@théatre de la ville

I’m so late I’ll be going with a burst of short notes. Sonic Protest was taxing, then I kept busy and got mildly sick.

For the past few years I’ve liked Jan Fabre‘s solo pieces better, and I’m sticking to that position. This was really theater though, there was only a couple token dance segment, and not all that interesting to me. Visually it was quite striking and potent, if sometimes over the top. I quite liked the Oceanus segment, speaking through water was a nice idea. But there were too many words for me. There wasn’t much of a story, just a parade of mythic characters, but that in itself wouldn’t have bothered me. It’s just that I can’t help being bored by the whole Greek mythology thing, and to me Prometheus clearly isn’t the potent figure Fabre kinda seems to be relying on. Being out of tune on that point, I was left with the visuals, which are usually worth seeing in his work. This time too, but that was not enough for me, I wish I had seen L’Ocelle Mare instead.

April 25, 2011 - Posted by | Theater | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

