counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

April 30th, 2011: Pandit Vishwa Mohan Bhatt & Divana

@théatre de la ville

I’m always interested in hearing instruments I don’t know, so Vishwa Mohan Bhatt‘s Mohan Veena was a treat. I thought it sounded close to the usual slide guitar, but with a far richer sound. I was also impressed by how rich a simple instrument like the khartal turned out to be in the hands of Gazi Khan Barna. I’m not much into the virtuosity that is so common in Indian music, and this was very much on display again. But on the other hand they played a bunch of folk songs, and that helped me by not requiring as much knowledge as the more classical stuff. So I wasn’t totally lost and could enjoy the music more.

It’s not my favorite kind of music, as it remains a little too sophisticated for me, but I enjoyed that show, and after a while even the virtuosity faded in the background and didn’t bother me anymore. I won’t go hear this regularly, but I would certainly enjoy something like it once in a while.

June 5, 2011 - Posted by | Music | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

