counterfnord

Gigs, dance, art

June 12th, 2007: Elekore / Yehlin Lee / Goh Lee Kwang

@Instants Chavirés

Pretty diverse evening, the only common thread being asian origins. I showed up early to catch the screening of what was billed as a movie about independent music in Vietnam, but turned out to be basically a Pauvros performance. OK, it was in Vietnam, with local musicians, but that was still a letdown.

Goh Lee Kwang turned out quite interesting to me. He had a basic sound — I can’t describe it, felt related to a ripping sound but not quite that — but took it through a lot of variations. I felt the sameness all set long but never got bored, it was more of a continuous thread I could follow through turns and figures.

Yehlin Lee‘s set was just excellent. He started with sounds of a crowd in Taipei, with a burst of fireworks, then went on to an amazingly rich set with great spatialization involved. I felt it was elemental, I had pictures of waves, lights, wind rushing through my mind as he played. It was pretty quiet, but engulfed me. I really loved this.

Then for something completely different, Elekore ended the evening. Harcore stuff, a computer and an energetic and pretty good singer who deserves praise for going through despite a sparse and unresponding audience. I must confess I didn’t like it. Some of it might be the contrast with the previous set, but I was turned off by the computer sounds, especially by guitar samples that drove me away for good.

June 13, 2007 - Posted by | Music | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. […] “Yehlin Lee’s set was just excellent. He started with sounds of a crowd in Taipei, with a burst of fireworks, then went on to an amazingly rich set with great spatialization involved. I felt it was elemental, I had pictures of waves, lights, wind rushing through my mind as he played. It was pretty quiet, but engulfed me. I really loved this.”…. Reviewed by Counterfnord […]

    Pingback by subjective algorithm > Yehlin LEE | Rio » Blog Archive » Reviews on Paris Concert @ Instants Chavirés | June 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. hi, thanks for your appreciation. I’ve posted your review on my site. BTW, there is some error in your link. My site is rio.recorderz.com, there is no www. I would be glad if you could be send me some pictures that night. And I will let you know my next piece.

    Thanks

    Comment by Rio | June 22, 2007 | Reply

  3. […] Counterfnord (原文) Instants Chavirés 分類: 文章翻譯, 報導, 其他, Recorderz, […]

    Pingback by Recorderz » 李岳凌(Rio)法國演出Review | June 25, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment